The Danube Flood Control Agency (DHK) was founded in 1927 for the purpose of maintaining and managing flood protection installations. Those installations are located along the Danube between the mouth of the Ysper (border between Upper and Lower Austria) and the national border at Theben (mouth of the Morava/March river). The DHK is formed by the three concerned public authorities, the Federal Government and the Länder Lower Austria and Vienna. viadonau is the legally defined managing authority of the DHK.  

In order to respond to the changed circumstances and requirements since the establishment of the DHK, an administrative reform is being prepared. This reform is also contained in the current government programme 2017-2022. The project for implementing the reform is coordinated by viadonau and executed by all three concerned public authorities. The aim is to achieve coherence between the legal entities, their assets and the operational responsibilities, in keeping with an efficient and impact-oriented administration.

The project makes a substantial contribution to the implementation of measure 
20. Optimise flood protection management across organisations and borders of the Action Programme for the Danube 2022.